top of page

Dr. Apostle Clifford E. Turner Tribute


I am writing as a recorder today. I am writing as a daughter. I am writing as a student. I am writing... today, one of the greatest Apostles of this time was called home to be with the Lord. I have words, so I can't say that I am lost for words, I think my challenge today, as I write, will be, how to condense all that I want to say with my words, into this blog. Dr. Apostle Clifford E. Turner was my Spiritual Father. A man who raised and trained me up in the ways of the Lord during my young teenage years up to adulthood. I was blessed to be part of Kings Kids, was blessed to write for the Liberty Temple News Letter, was blessed to be a principal character in The Awakening, was blessed to write scripts for drama, was blessed to bring forth the Word of God as a child, was blessed to direct and teach the drama team, was blessed to experience lead in my first off Broadway play as Destiny in "Decisions", was blessed to travel to Florida, Indiana, New York, Ohio, Wisconsin and more with the drama ministry and cast of The Awakening. I was blessed to lead 26 children to the Lord before a skating party. I was blessed to minister spoken word at the Light Club, was blessed to be part of the worship team, was blessed to become a published author, blessed to start my clown company because I started out being a clown at the Liberty church picnic and so much more, all because Apostle Turner saw the gifts of God in me and cultivated every area. Apostle has released the word of the Lord over every gift, the actress, the playwright, the screenwriter, the author, the singer, the director, the leader, the Prophet, the preacher, the set apart and chosen. Apostle Turner didn't just minister to me and train me spiritually, he literally gave me a safe place to be creative in every area, for the Lord. All the above mentioned are areas that were exercised through the vision God gave him to allow saved young people to be creative.


I can't imagine where I would be in my life today, had I not be forced, by my mom, to leave my traditional church with grandparents and attend a new church with her. I don't know. I was a rebellious teen who wasn't saved. I knew nothing about Full Gospel, the 5 Fold, Prophetic, etc. The last place I wanted to be was in church, especially Liberty. It was a strange place with no choir, with praise dancers, and people that looked through you, when you walked through the door. Between me complaining about going and ushers telling me to spit out my gum, something happened, I learned about a church that had a drama ministry. Now I was already acting professionally, but I had no idea I was to use my gifts for God. I had not heard of this outside of Christmas and Easter plays. But God knew. God knew that I needed to be in a church with an Apostle to watch over the creative anointing on my life so I wouldn't be lost to the world and for this, I am grateful.


I honor God for Apostle Turner! I thank God for his children and Sister Darlyn for sharing him with me. I thank God for his love for God's people. I thank God for finding my mentor because of the connection with my Liberty family, and although I was no longer a member, I was always welcomed with open arms during visits and special services and events. I'll see you later Apostle and look forward to continuing the gift of the scribe while in the earth realm. I salute you!


Love L.A. affectionately known by you as "Hollywood"


Photos by MJ Murphy and Flash Media Groups


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page