top of page

The Heavenly Places


I want to give you a brief exhortation about living in the heavenly places. How can we as the people of God live there? We must have the mind of Christ. This is the only way that we can maintain a place of living heavens culture while here on earth. It can be difficult to walk in that place when so much is happening all around but the grace of God gives us as believers the supernatural strength to not only endure but the be victorious no matter the situation and circumstance. I want to talk to a certain group of people right now, the gifted. I want to give you a simple kingdom key that will ensure that you can walk in heavenly places and stay there. You must use the measure of grace on in your lives. You must use your gifts to enhance the Kingdom of God.

Having the mind of Christ will have us looking at things from a different perspective. We will have a birds eye view. We will look from a high place and not a low place. It takes a surrendering unto God in order to walk there. It’s a selfless act. There is a price to pay, and when we are willing, the Lord will move on our behalf. How can we yield ourselves and gifts to Holy Spirit? Everything starts with mind renewal. Often times we must unlearn religion and get into an authentic relationship with Christ.


Romans 12:2


2 Do not conform to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is—his good, pleasing and perfect will.


Ephesians 4:22-32


22 You were taught, with regard to your former way of life, to put off your old self, which is being corrupted by its deceitful desires; 23 to be made new in the attitude of your minds; 24 and to put on the new self, created to be like God in true righteousness and holiness. 25 Therefore each of you must put off falsehood and speak truthfully to your neighbor, for we are all members of one body. 26 “In your anger do not sin” : Do not let the sun go down while you are still angry, 27 and do not give the devil a foothold. 28Anyone who has been stealing must steal no longer, but must work, doing something useful with their own hands, that they may have something to share with those in need. 29 Do not let any unwholesome talk come out of your mouths, but only what is helpful for building others up according to their needs, that it may benefit those who listen. 30 And do not grieve the Holy Spirit of God, with whom you were sealed for the day of redemption. 31 Get rid of all bitterness, rage and anger, brawling and slander, along with every form of malice. 32 Be kind and compassionate to one another, forgiving each other, just as in Christ God forgave you.


This scripture is talking about mind renewal. Being transformed. Not allowing our flesh to dictate to us how to interact and live our lives with one another. Can we apply this word to our lives? I grew up next door to a boy named Cedric. My bedroom window and his bedroom window was adjacent to one another. We weren’t the best of friends but we saw each other often. Well his family moved away after about ten years and we reconnected on facebook about five years ago. He told me he was in the medical field and doing well. Cedric is now in a Texas penitentiary on death row for killing his fiance, her 8 year old son and attempting to kill her 11 year old son by way of stabbing during a night of rage as his 9 month old son was in the other room, unharmed because he was his biological father. We are talking about living in heavenly places. It was all over the news. When I heard about it, my heart sank. He had so much going for himself. All of our childhood friends had practically written him off. I had to deal with myself as I heard Holy Spirit speak to me. I wanted to be like everyone else. I wanted to conform. He’s a murderer. I don’t want no parts of this. I heard “no sin is greater than another, I need you to care about his soul”. Could I walk out this word in me. I wanted to just pray for him like we do when we don’t want to be bothered. But if you see your brother that has a need and you shut up your bowels of compassion, how does the love of God abide in you? Could I find kindness and forgiveness towards him when I was so conflicted? I could hear Holy Spirit talking to me, “if everyone got what they deserved”. I had to rise to the occasion. Being a Scribal Prophet isn’t just about writing plays and poems, it’s about allowing Holy Spirit to use me to shift someone’s life prophetically for His glory. I began to write him. For the first year, I didn’t put a return address on the letters because he needed to receive and hear what the Lord was saying. I sent him the word, I sent him prophetic poems, stories, I sent him plays, and bible studies. I sent things to activate the healing and deliverance power of God in his life. I sent him toilet paper and snacks. I had to find a way to walk out this thing we preach about to others. I had to contend with myself to display the love of God. I finally sent my return address about a year after building him up. And when he wrote back, his language was different. He said “Out of all the people who could have reached out to me to show me love, I never would have thought it would have been you. I’ve given my heart to Christ and I thank you for writing me all this time. You have impacted me in a way you will never know. And toilet paper is like gold in here.”


I yielded my gift. It’s been 4 years now and I am helping him write his first book, called “Letters to My Sons”. So he can leave a legacy to his sons after his time has expired here on earth. Can you walk in the heavenly places when it's hard? Can you walk in forgiveness? Can you truly look through the eyes of Christ by treating people with His love? Can you be a representation of the Kingdom of God. Who will display the walking epistles read of all men if we don’t?


Romans 4:32 Be kind and compassionate to one another, forgiving each other, just as in Christ God forgave you.


How are you using your gift to reach the unreachable? Heavily places is a lifestyle, it's a demonstration to unbelievers that God is real. The Kingdom of God is available to every human being who desires to make Jesus Christ Lord of your lives and it all starts with believing that He is.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page