top of page

Prophetic Writing for Stage and Film, from the Author.


Prophetic Writing for Stage and Film excerpt.


The secret place is where it all began. That quiet spot that captures my heart when I take my fingers and begin to type. The words pour from me like the living water of a cool stream on a hot summer day. It refreshes me. It takes me in. I start with a simple prayer, wanting to acknowledge Holy Spirit before I began to write.


“Holy Spirit I acknowledge you. I ask that you flow through me. I want to write what you want me to write. I decrease so that you may get the increase in Jesus name I pray, amen.”


I know that something great is about to happen. The anointing that is in me, is waiting for me to walk out what I already know is there. It’s not a feeling, but more of a decision to start. I know that once I start, the grace of God that is on my life will follow. I just needed to start. But once I understood that The Scribal Anointing on my life was already present, waiting on me, my words were never the same. They had purpose. I had to be responsible for them. My words held the weight of His glory and I needed to handle them with care. What happens on the inside of people when I write? Had they gotten the message of me being responsible to reveal the heart of God through my words? Yes, is my answer. This is my journey, my love and passion to reach people through poetry, parables (known as fiction), narratives, essays, plays and film. I am so glad that God has chosen me to prophetically write.


Psalms 45:1 My heart overfloweth with a goodly matter; I speak the things which I have made touching the king. My tongue is the pen of a ready writer. (ASV)


As far back as I can remember, I have had a love for words. English was my favorite subject in school. Creative writing was my “wheelhouse”, as they say. I looked forward to writing papers. Who does that? My friends thought I was weird. On top of being extremely creative, I also enjoyed school. I wrote poetry, stories and plays. I took screenplay writing in high school and my writing expanded. What I didn’t know then, was God was training me to be used for His glory. He was equipping me to express His heart through the words He would write through me. Holy Spirit began to reveal the prophetic scribal anointing on my life.


It was always there, but what good is a gift if it hasn’t been unwrapped? A gift can only be used in it’s intended purpose after it’s revealed. I am so grateful that the gift on the inside of me was unwrapped and identified early. I sit back and think about the lives that have been touched and altered because of the words that Holy Spirit has spoken through me. I boast on Him. I know that I am a vessel. I am honored and blessed to have been chosen in this area of creativity to bring people into the fullness of Christ. After all, this is what it’s all about, using our gifts to create kingdom change in the lives of people assigned to the anointing on our lives.


I wrote this book to give the reader examples of prophetic writing for stage and film. You will be able to read scenes from some of my plays, movie scripts, poems, and books that have set people on the path of righteousness after encountering these works as audience and cast members. What makes prophetic writing different from entertainment is the heart of God expressed in a way that causes people to want to line up with the original intent of God’s purpose for their lives. I’d also like to activate the prophetic writer in you as you read. Don’t be surprised when you begin to desire to create stories and write plays after reading this book. An impartation will take place. Get ready! I pray that your heart be open to receive, and your spiritual eyes are open to see in Jesus name.


Scribal Prophet L.A. Holts


I wanted to start out by giving the readers a look into my process. This is the secret part of me as a prophetic writer for stage and film. Something that I don't often share with those outside of my close circle. But I find it important to be most transparent when imparting something so precious to God, into His people. We have been so trained and conditioned to think that writing plays and films are for entertainment. Or writing plays for stage and film is about how much money we can make, but have you considered that writing for an audience of one is most important? In the Certificate to Teach Program, led by Apostle Theresa Harvard Johnson, we were taught the significance of yielding the scribal anointing on our lives to Holy Spirit, completely in a way that gave us the understanding that when we flow, it is unto The Father. It is unto Christ. He is our audience of One. So when we write, plays and films, it should be to please Him and Him alone and once that is achieved, those assigned to the project will show up. Having this understanding will keep writings on the path of righteousness when it comes to your work.


Tackling hard subjects shouldn't have you compromise your witness or faith. There is always a way to tastefully write your plays and films without "going to the dark side". My advice is to write according to your convictions and be sensitive to Holy Spirit when He nudges you to change things up. There is never anything wrong with correcting scripts after you think you have finished them.


Prophetic writing for stage and film isn't just about writing the heart of God, but it also takes skill and proper training. Although I encourage beginners to still write what The Lord is giving you, when it comes to actually doing your play or film, some education and professionalism will make it much easier.


Working with professional actors for example, they are use to having the correct format for screenplay and stage plays. They are expecting the correct terminology to be utilized while they are reading and memorizing. How you present your work on paper can sometimes determine the quality of cast that you attract.


In my book, Prophetic Writing for Stage & Film, I give prophetic writers examples of my work and teach readers the process of writing prophetically. Along with the process, I also give testimonies of the outcome of yielding my pen to Holy Spirit. This is our time Scribes and the creative arts are bursting forth like never before. I believe the Lord wants to reach those who may not attend traditional churches in this hour, and He is using plays and films to do so. Take up your place and prepare. We are about to see a deluge of films and stage plays that are being used to expand the Kingdom of God. I believe, by the Spirit of God, that He wants to use us, to usher these Devine scripts in.


God bless you! Get the book, Prophetic Writing for Stage & Film, from Amazon.com


Scribal Prophet L.A. Holts, B.A.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page