top of page

Fight Against Depression with the Word of God


Definition of depression

: an act of depressing or a state of being depressed: such as

a (1) : a state of feeling sad : dejection (lowness of spirits)

  • anger, anxiety, and depression

(2) : a mood disorder marked especially by sadness, inactivity, difficulty in thinking and concentration, a significant increase or decrease in appetite and time spent sleeping, feelings of dejection and hopelessness, and sometimes suicidal tendencies

  • bouts of depression

  • suffering from clinical depression

b (1) : a reduction in activity, amount, quality, or force

  • a depression in trade

(2) biology : a lowering of physical or mental vitality or of functional activity

c : a pressing down : lowering

  • a depression of the tab key

As I looked up depression, the running theme in the definitions that I came across described or talked about a low place. Low in spirits, down, falling in a hole, hopeless, worthlessness, low self image etc. So I want to teach from a place of adjusting our perception of who we are as Sons of God. In order to get from a low place to a high place there must be mind renewal and an acceptance of who Christ says that we are, no matter what it looks like all around us. Every human being on the planet has experienced feelings of depression at some point. The difference between Believers and those who aren’t are the promises of God and the kingdom culture He has for His children. I want to say that the kingdom culture is open to every person on the earth that is willing to accept Christ as their Lord and Savior. The Kingdom of God is inclusive and all are welcomed. However, the Sons of God have direct access to the peace of God, the provision of God, Joy of the Lord, Holy Spirit which dwells within us, the power of God, and we have the ability to walk in His authority when we live upright before Him. This is living in the kingdom culture. And often times the present day church is so buried in religion, that the kingdom is out of its grasp. One of the things I want to point out about depression is that the church has demonized it in such a way that those who may need professional help, don’t get it. There is nothing wrong with talking to a professional, even if you are saved. Sometimes depression can be a chemical imbalance and medication may be needed as well. How do Believers come up? How do those who battle depression for lack of mind renewal reset and begin on the right path? I'll be giving you 10 key points to help you fight depression and get on the right track.


1. Be mindful of what you think about.

Philippians 4:8

8 Finally, brothers and sisters, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things.


2. Trust God and know that He has your best interest and will go before you to clear the path.

Deuteronomy 31:8

8 The LORD himself goes before you and will be with you; he will never leave you nor forsake you. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged.”


3. Know that God hears you when you pray.

Psalm 34:17

17 The righteous cry out, and the LORD hears them; he delivers them from all their troubles.


4. Know God will pull you out of that dark place.

Psalm 40:1-3

Chapter Parallel Compare

1 I waited patiently for the LORD; he turned to me and heard my cry. 2 He lifted me out of the slimy pit, out of the mud and mire; he set my feet on a rock and gave me a firm place to stand. 3 He put a new song in my mouth, a hymn of praise to our God. Many will see and fear the LORD and put their trust in him.


5. Sometimes pride will be the gateway for depression to come in. Know that we have a choice and a free will to decide to hold on to things or let them go.

1 Peter 5:6-7

6 Humble yourselves, therefore, under God’s mighty hand, that he may lift you up in due time. 7 Cast all your anxiety on him because he cares for you.


6. We are over comers because Jesus Christ has already overcome the world.

John 16:33

33 “I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.”


7. Any situation we must understand that we are loved. No matter if you have been rejected by people, lied on, fired from your job, lost a loved one, sick in your body, betrayed, violated, no matter what, nobody can ever override the love that God has for you. So when people try to attack or when you feeling oppressed, or depressed, speak the word over your situation.

Romans 8:38-39

38 For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, 39 neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.


8. There comes a time when Believers must walk in healing so that we can then be used to heal someone else.

2 Corinthians 1:3-4

3 Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of compassion and the God of all comfort, 4 who comforts us in all our troubles, so that we can comfort those in any trouble with the comfort we ourselves receive from God.


9. You are not what or who you use to be before Christ.

2 Corinthians 5:17

“Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, the new creation has come: The old has gone, the new is here!”


10. You have to decide everyday to walk in the spirit and not after the flesh. You must live in the lifted and high places in Christ.

Colossians 3:2

“Set your minds on things above, not on earthly things.”


Declaration prayer:


I want to walk you through a declaration. This is a prayer that will reset your path and gives Holy Spirit permission to heal all soul wounds which are the root cause of all depression. And then after the declaration, I have a poem for those who have been having suicidal thoughts. So that can be broken off of you in Jesus name. (In honor of Suicide Awareness Month, if you or someone you know are having suicidal thoughts, please call 800-273-TALK (8255).)


Repeat this prayer out loud: "By my will I release all soul clutter, every offense that was done to me, every person who violated me, every situation that hurt me, every betrayal, all abuse mental, physical or sexual and spiritual. By my will I forgive every person in my life that has wounded me. I forgive myself for anything that I have done to someone else. I lay it all at the foot of the cross. Anything that has lingered in my soul, that is not like you, I ask that you take it out. I now activate the Dunamis power of the cross to fill every area with the blood of Jesus Christ, to fill and cover every part of me that is now empty. Fill me up with your Holy Spirit. In Jesus name I pray amen."


Poem Against Suicide


Am I the Face of Suicide?

The faces of my pain seem to change with circumstances that have gotten me undone

So I watch my feet in obscurity trying to run

I whisper silent prayers for my daughters and my son

Am I the face of suicide can't I be inspired?

I wake up to this darkness in the daytime thinking this must be how I'm wired

I'm tired

I want to run through the lilies with not a care in the world

I want to smell the roses and play dress up like I did when I was a little girl

But when I reach out shards of glass cut me

Feels like I'm held down by dark clouds no matter how much I want to be free

Am I the face of suicide is this real? It can't be

It's like I taste the bile of my life on the tip on my soul

Like demons are screaming in my ears and it's taken its toll

I feel I have no worth my insecurities nip at my heels

The rejection from my past sits on the edge on my bed at night and taunts me still

The abandonment of my father has given me a weak disposition.

I want to sing and break free from this but can't grab hold of the right version of my life, it's always the wrong rendition

My associates are buried in their own lives I'm in your face and you still can't see me

Your words your prayers your smile your care could reach down this dark hole and free me

Like I'm trapped in a cage that I've outgrown it hurts above around and beneath me

It's got spikes

And blood

And rocks

And cliffs

And no sunlight to find me spiritually

Am I the face of suicide

When I look at myself I cringe

I feel like Phyllis Hyman searching for an

old friend it's so nice to feel you hold me again

Like Robin Williams my smiles have been empty

This cement has got me.

Hell has trapped me.

I want to wake up now pinch me slap me

Am I the face of suicide

But I don't have to be

The remnants of my past have been cast away from me

The dark clouds have been chained and thrown down see

My life is worth the living cause someone greater lives inside of me

So He stopped the invasion of my soul and took back my kingdom authority

I walk in my purpose and give credit to

The creator of all things

That depression was my anger turned inward cause of myself I was thinking of too highly

I didn't cast my cares upon Him for he cares for me

I tried to carry the heavy burden of unforgiveness instead of passing it to my king.

He said I have power and dominion over every evil thing

So who am I to walk around on the earth not being free

I decree and declare this old man has died and I am now who He has made me

Because he has canceled the plans of satan in my life that dark cloud has floated past me

I dodged the grips of hades

Cause my King had all three keys

Hell, death and grave can no longer claim me

Because I am no longer isolated in that pain

The kingdom of God has swallowed me

Once I was out there drowning in misery

But now mine eyes have been opened and I realized I am a spirit being

This life I have I've surrendered to Him so He is obligated to take care of me

This flesh that has dressed me is my earth suite and now I know it's temporary

But how I live and give all to him is worth more than everything

He takes our pain cause He coped with it on the cross and defeated every enemy

I was the face of suicide but no more I've turned the other cheek

I'm clothed in righteousness bath in His presence covered in His grace so satan can't even find me.

Spirit of suicide I call you out and cast you down under my feet

Every void in your life I feel with hope, I feel with love and the joy of the Lord you see

No more wallowing in self pity

No more thinking on negative things

Let me give you some Godly wisdom

Listen to these kingdom keys

No more speaking death over your situation

Say what God has told you to say

No more dreading waking up

Get up and declare it a great day

No more sitting in the dark when you can turn the lights on

No more sad sake music only play life and worship songs

Call those things that be not as though they were the power of life and death lies in your tongue

And faith without works is dead so I advise you to pray to the Father and get some

Stop worrying about things that you yourself can't change.

Those suicidal thoughts were demonic attacks on your brain, just mind games.

We are called to cast down every ungodly imagination that parades around as a high thing.

get rid of every thing that separates you from the Father

So that only the Kingdom remains.

I dispatch the heavenly host right now to fight the enemy decapitate

The kingdom of God has arrived with the power from on high and my Daddy has sent me on a mandate.

Every unclean spirit with no legal right, get out walk through a dry place

Spirit of death I call you out for the kingdom this territory I claim.

L.A. Holts

(If you were blessed by this blog and would like to sow into my ministry, my cash app is: $13womentheplay thank you for any donations and I bless you in Jesus name!)


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page